What is E-voting?


Today, eligible voters cast their votes at the ballot box or by post. E-voting makes it possible to vote electronically online via smartphone, tablet or computer, from anywhere and at any time. This is done by sending a security code to voters by post together with their voting or election documents, which they then use to log in to their canton’s E-voting platform. They can now cast a single vote, which is then stored, encrypted and anonymized in the electronic ballot box. Only the canton’s electoral commission can open the ballot box and decrypt and count the votes.

Security and end-to-end encryption

End-to-end encryption ensures that the digital “reply envelopes” cannot be opened or read from the time the vote is cast on the voter’s device until the moment the ballot box is opened by the cantonal electoral commission.

Device-independent

The system can be used independently of platforms and devices, whether on your smartphone, tablet or computer.

Accessibility

People with disabilities can take part in electronic voting and elections without assistance from others.

Time- and location-independent

Swiss nationals residing in Switzerland and abroad can participate in elections and votes regardless of their location (the canton determines which electoral groups can benefit from E-voting).

Prevents errors

A simple user interface prevents formal errors in the election and voting process, such as illegible answers, omitted signatures, incorrectly completed forms and invalid lists.

Quick and accurate

Votes can be counted quickly and accurately.

Advice

Checking the certificate’s fingerprint

If you want to check that you are on the correct official E-voting portal, you can check the certificate’s fingerprint. That way you can make sure that you are not on a manipulated or fake website. Certificates are used to guarantee the authenticity of the web server that you are using and to encrypt the communication connection with the server. This enables you to distinguish between genuine and fake websites, even if they may superficially look similar or the same.

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer

Mozilla Firefox

Apple Safari

Deleting browsing history

If you want to make sure that no conclusions can be drawn about your vote on your device (computer, tablet, smartphone), we recommend clearing the browser cache after every vote. For instructions on how to delete browsing history, click on the browser that you use below.

Google Chrome / Mobile

Edge / Internet Explorer

Mozilla Firefox

Apple Safari / Mobile

Security

Various built-in mechanisms and special security-related and cryptographic precautions ensure that security and data protection are guaranteed. In the system’s most advanced phase of development, the votes cast will be individually and universally verifiable. This means that both voters and electoral authorities can check at all times that the votes cast have been correctly registered and have not been manipulated. You can find a selection of the security mechanisms in place below:


  • End-to-end encryption

    The connection between the voter and the voting portal is encrypted at every step.

  • Encryption of the data on the server

    The encrypted votes are stored on ISO- and TÜV-certified Swiss Post servers. The voter’s name and address are not saved on the systems at any time.

  • Votes cannot be attributed to voters

    Once a vote is cast, it cannot be attributed to a specific voter either before or after the votes are counted. This is because the electoral registers in the E-voting system have already been anonymized during the preparation stage and because votes are separated from the registration number once cast.

  • Illustration for year of birth

    Entering your year of birth

    In certain cantons, voters will be asked to enter their year of birth in addition to the input codes when logging in. Your year of birth will not be shown on your voting card and therefore provides additional security.

How do I vote?


You will receive the codes required to cast your vote together with the election documents. These will also contain the URL for the election and voting portal used by your canton.
The process is defined by four different codes: the start voting key, the choice codes, the ballot casting key and the vote cast code.


Triangle symbol indicating the start voting key.

Start voting key

The start voting key (marked with a TRIANGLE) consists of a series of numbers and letters indicated on your voting card. To identify yourself and to start the vote casting process, you need to enter the start voting key as well as your year of birth on the portal’s start screen.

Square symbol indicating the choice codes.

Choice codes

The choice codes are marked with a DIAMOND and enable so-called individual verifiability.
The choice codes are a series of numbers which are displayed on the screen in step 3, “Verify and cast vote”. Compare the choice codes displayed with those in your voting and election documents. If the choice codes displayed match those in the documents, then you know that your vote has been correctly sealed and sent according to your selection.

Pentagon symbol indicating the ballot casting key.

Ballot casting key

The ballot casting key is marked with a PENTAGON. If the choice codes shown in step 3, “Verify and cast vote”, are correct, you must type in the ballot casting key in order to cast your vote in the electronic ballot box. If you do not enter your ballot casting key, your vote will not be cast in the electronic ballot box. In this case, you will still be able to cast your vote by post or at the ballot box.

Star symbol indicating the vote cast code.

Vote cast code

The vote cast code is marked with a STAR on your voting card. The vote cast code allows you to check whether the voting process has been successfully completed in step 4 “Vote cast”. If the vote cast code matches the code displayed, then you have successfully completed the voting process.

Demo

You can try out Swiss Post’s e-voting system in a fictitious vote and fictitious elections here.
First, download a fictitious voting card. During the voting process, enter the codes shown on the card.

Security check
To download your voting card, please click on the box below.

2. Go to the demo platform

Do you need help with the voting process? Call us on 0800 99 88 66 (8am – 5pm). Free of charge from a Swiss landline

Transparency

Swiss Post believes that only a transparent and politically neutral E-voting solution can be successful in the long term. For this reason, Swiss Post publishes a certain number of documents and concepts.

Transparency and publications

Partner cantons

The following cantons are already using our solutions

Fribourg

Cantonal coat of arms of Fribourg

In Fribourg, Swiss citizens living abroad have been able to vote electronically since the elections held on 27 November 2016.

Neuchâtel

Cantonal coat of arms of Neuchâtel

Since the contest on 12 February 2017, Neuchâtel has used Swiss Post’s system on the cantonal portal “Guichet Unique”.

Was ist E-Voting?


Die Stimmberechtigten geben ihre Stimmen heute an der Urne oder per Brief ab. Mit E-Voting ist die Stimmabgabe auch auf elektronischem Weg online per Smartphone, Tablet oder Computer jederzeit und von überall her möglich.
Dazu erhalten die Stimmberechtigten zusammen mit ihren Abstimmungs- oder Wahlunterlagen auf dem Postweg einen Sicherheitscode. Damit loggen sie sich auf der E-Voting-Plattform ihres Kantons ein. Nun kann einmalig eine Stimme abgegeben werden, die anschliessend verschlüsselt und anonymisiert in der elektronischen Urne gespeichert wird. Nur die Wahlkommission des Kantons kann die Urne öffnen, entschlüsseln und die Stimmen auszählen.


Sicherheit & End-to-End-Verschlüsselung

Eine End-to-End-Verschlüsselung stellt sicher, dass die digitalen „Antwortcouverts“ von der Stimmabgabe auf dem Gerät des Stimmbürgers bis zur Urnenöffnung durch die Wahlkommission des Kantons weder geöffnet noch gelesen werden können.

Geräteunabhängig

Das System ist plattform- und geräteunabhängig einsetzbar, egal ob auf dem Smartphone, Tablet oder Computer.

Barrierefreiheit

Menschen mit Behinderung können ohne Hilfe Dritter elektronisch abstimmen und wählen.

Orts- und Zeitunabhängig

In- und Auslandschweizer können unabhängig von ihrem Aufenthaltsort an Wahlen und Abstimmungen teilnehmen (der Kanton bestimmt, welche Wählergruppen von E-Voting profitieren können).

Verhindert Fehler

Eine einfache Benutzerführung verhindert formale Fehler wie unleserliche Antworten, fehlende Unterschriften, falsch ausgefüllte Formulare oder ungültige Listen im Stimm- und Wahlprozess.

Schnell und genau

Stimmen können schnell und genau ausgezählt werden.

Ratschläge

Überprüfung des Fingerprints des Zertifikats

Wenn Sie überprüfen möchten, dass Sie auf dem korrekten, offiziellen E-Voting-Portal sind, können Sie den Fingerprint des Zertifikats überprüfen. Auf diese Weise können Sie ausschliessen, dass Sie sich auf einer manipulierten oder gefälschten Seite befinden. Die Zertifikate werden verwendet, um die Echtheit des angesprochenen Webservers zu garantieren und um die Kommunikationsverbindung zum Server zu verschlüsseln. Dadurch kann man echte von gefälschten Webseiten unterscheiden, auch wenn sie oberflächlich ähnlich oder gleich aussehen.

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer

Mozilla Firefox

Apple Safari

Browserverlauf löschen

Wenn Sie sicher sein wollen, dass auf Ihrem Gerät (Computer, Tablett, Smartphone) keine Rückschlüsse auf Ihre Stimmabgabe getätigt werden können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, nach jeder Stimmabgabe den Browsercache zu leeren. Klicken Sie unten auf den Browser, den Sie verwenden, um zur Anleitung zu gelangen, wie man den Browserverlauf löscht.

Google Chrome / Mobile

Edge / Internet Explorer

Mozilla Firefox

Apple Safari / Mobile

Sicherheit

Verschiedene eingebaute Mechanismen und spezielle sicherheitstechnische und kryptographische Vorkehrungen sorgen dafür, dass die Sicherheit und der Datenschutz gewährleistet sind.
Die abgegebenen Stimmen werden in der höchsten Ausbaustufe des Systems individuell und universell verifizierbar sein. Das bedeutet, dass sowohl die Stimmberechtigten als auch die Wahlbehörden jederzeit überprüfen können, dass die abgegebenen Stimmen richtig gespeichert und nicht manipuliert wurden. Eine Auswahl von Sicherheitsmechanismen finden Sie untenstehend:


  • End-to-End-Verschlüsselung

    Die Verbindung zwischen dem Wähler und dem Wählerportal ist jederzeit verschlüsselt.

  • Verschlüsselung der Daten auf dem Server

    Auf den ISO- und TÜV-zertifizierten Servern der Post werden die verschlüsselten Stimmen abgelegt. Auf den Systemen befinden sich zu keiner Zeit der Name oder Adresse des Wählers.

  • Stimme kann Wähler nicht zugeordnet werden

    Eine abgegebene Stimme kann weder vor noch nach der Auszählung einem bestimmten Wähler zugeordnet werden, da die Stimmregister des E-Voting-Systems bereits in der Vorbereitung anonymisiert werden und die Stimmen nach der Stimmabgabe zusätzlich von der Registernummer separiert werden.

  • Illustration Geburtsjahr

    Eingabe des Geburtsjahrs

    In gewissen Kantonen wird der Wähler zusätzlich zu den Eingabecodes beim Login aufgefordert, sein Geburtsjahr einzugeben. Das Geburtsjahr wird nicht auf dem Stimmrechtsausweis abgebildet und führt deshalb zu einer zusätzlichen Sicherheit.

Wie stimme ich ab?


Sie bekommen zusammen mit den Wahlunterlagen die notwendigen Codes für die Stimmabgabe. Sie finden dort auch die URL des Wahl- und Abstimmungsportals, das Ihr Kanton nutzt.
Vier verschiedene Codes definieren den Prozess: der Initialisierungscode, die Prüfcodes, der Bestätigungscode und der Finalisierungscode.


Dreieck Symbol was den Initialisierungscode kennzeichnet

Initialisierungscode

Der Initialisierungscode (gekennzeichnet mit einem DREIECK) besteht aus einer Reihe von Zahlen und Buchstaben, die sich auf Ihrem Stimmrechtsausweis befinden. Sie müssen den Initialisierungscode sowie Ihr Geburtsjahr auf dem Startbildschirm des Portals eintippen, um sich zu identifizieren und den Stimmabgabeprozess zu starten.

Viereck Symbol was den Prüfcodes kennzeichnet

Prüfcodes

Die Prüfcodes sind mit einem DIAMANTEN gekennzeichnet und ermöglichen die sogenannte individuelle Verifizierbarkeit.
Bei den Prüfcodes handelt es sich um eine Reihe von Zahlen, die in Schritt 3 „Verifizieren und einwerfen“ auf dem Bildschirm angezeigt werden. Vergleichen Sie die angezeigten Prüfcodes mit jenen in Ihren Stimm- und Wahlunterlagen. Stimmen die angezeigten Prüfcodes mit jenen auf den Unterlagen überein, wissen Sie, dass Ihre Stimme entsprechend Ihrer Auswahl korrekt versiegelt und übermittelt wurde.

Fünfeck Symbol was den Bestätigungscode kennzeichnet

Bestätigungscode

Der Bestätigungscode ist mit einem FÜNFECK gekennzeichnet. Wenn die im Schritt 3 "Verifizieren und einwerfen" angezeigten Prüfcodes korrekt sind, müssen Sie den Bestätigungscode eintippen, um Ihre Stimme in die elektronische Urne einzuwerfen. Geben Sie Ihren Bestätigungscode nicht ein, wird Ihre Stimme nicht in die elektronische Urne eingeworfen. In diesem Fall dürfen Sie Ihre Stimme weiterhin brieflich oder an der Urne abgeben.

Stern Symbol was den Finalisierungscode kennzeichnet

Finalisierungscode

Der Finalisierungscode ist auf Ihrem Stimmrechtsausweis mit einem STERN gekennzeichnet. Mit dem Finalisierungscode können Sie in Schritt 4 „Stimme eingeworfen“ überprüfen, ob der Stimmabgabeprozess erfolgreich abgeschlossen wurde. Wenn der Finalisierungscode mit dem angezeigten Code übereinstimmt, wurde das Abstimmungsverfahren erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Demo

Hier haben Sie die Möglichkeit, das E-Voting-System der Post in einer fiktiven Abstimmung und in fiktiven Wahlen zu testen.
Laden Sie zunächst einen fiktiven Stimmrechtsausweis herunter. Geben Sie die Codes, die Sie darauf finden, während des Abstimmungsprozesses ein.

Sicherheitskontrolle
Klicken Sie bitte das Kästchen unten an, damit Sie den Stimmrechtausweis herunterladen können.

2. Zur Demo-Plattform

Benötigen Sie Hilfe bei dem Abstimmungsprozess? Rufen Sie uns an unter 0800 99 88 66 (08:00 – 17:00 Uhr). Kostenlos aus dem Schweizer Festnetz

Transparenz

Die Post ist überzeugt, dass nur eine transparente und politisch neutrale E-Voting-Lösung längerfristig erfolgreich sein kann. Deshalb publiziert die Post eine gewisse Anzahl Dokumente und Konzepte

Transparenz und Publikationen

Partnerkantone

Folgende Kantone setzen unsere Lösung bereits ein

Freiburg

Kantonswappen Freiburg

In Freiburg können Auslandschweizer seit dem Urnengang vom 27. November 2016 elektronisch abstimmen.

Neuenburg

Kantonswappen Neuenburg

Seit dem Urnengang vom 12.02.2017 setzt Neuenburg das System der Post auf dem kantonalen Portal «Guichet Unique» ein.